Photographs that changed the world…

… well, not the world maybe but certainly important for me.

El Borne

Going back through my archives to find an image, I found that a small number of pictures stood out as having marked a change of direction in what I was trying to do with my photography, and also in what I was ‘seeing’. A landmark, if you like, in personal development. This pic shouted at me as I walked past, one of those rare occasions when the image composes itself and you don’t need to work a scene.

It contains a number of elements that I followed-up in later work: foliage in an urban setting; an interest in narrative – something I’ve pursued since by using diptychs – ; and an element of the anthropomorphic, a forerunner for this image, with it’s snake-like corrugated metal entering the arena……

From ‘Works’

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
